Biography

Paloma Bruce (formerly Horlor) is an opera singer from New Zealand who has been teaching singing since 2000. She is a lyric coloratura soprano and specializes in singing classical music. Paloma was attracted from a young age to opera because she loved the extremes of great emotion, acting a role and the teamwork involved in putting on a performance.

Paloma started singing lessons at the age of thirteen at St. Mary's College in Wellington, New Zealand with Lesley Graham who was a pupil of the famed teacher Sister Mary Leo. After finishing her studies at high school, Paloma was immediately accepted to study voice at Victoria University of Wellington (now the New Zealand School of Music http://www.nzsm.ac.nz). During her studies there she received vocal tuition from Emily Mair, Patrick Power and Geoffrey Coker, graduating with a 1st class Honours degree in Music (majoring in Performance Voice).

In 2005, Paloma was accepted as one of four PriceWaterhouseCoopers Dame Malvina Major Emerging Artists with NBR NZ Opera and studied leading roles with the company including 'Violetta' in Verdi's 'La Traviata' as well as covering the role of 'The British Dancing Girl' in NZ's premiere of John Adam's' The Death of Klinghoffer'. She also received lessons with Dame Malvina Major during her internship. After masterclasses and lessons with Madame Virginia Zeani and Frances Wilson at the New Zealand Opera School, Paloma was encouraged to explore the Bel Canto coloratura soprano repertoire after having trained initially as a Lyric Soprano. This began two and a half years of study with Frances Wilson at the Auckland Opera Studio (based at the famous Mollies Hotel).

Paloma was a winner of the Wellington and Napier Aria competitions and runner up in the Lockwood Aria (now the New Zealand Aria) as well as a semi­finalist in the Lexus Song Quest.

In 2007, Paloma was accepted to study at the internationally renowned Royal College of Music in London, United Kingdom and studied at a postgraduate level for a few months. Paloma moved to the UK with the financial support of the Victoria League of Auckland and an AMP scholarship. Paloma had to withdraw from her studies due to illness but when recovered she soon began working as a freelance opera singer around the UK. Paloma has worked for various UK companies including London Festival Opera, Opera Anywhere, Swansea City Opera, The Merry Opera Company, Heritage Opera, Surrey Opera, Opera Bespoke, Southgate Opera and West London Opera.

Paloma created the role of 'Julia Bertram' in the highly acclaimed world premiere of Jonathan Dove's opera 'Mansfield Park' based on the novel by Jane Austen http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mansfield_Park_(opera).

Paloma has performed live and recorded for radio in both New Zealand and the United Kingdom and performed many times on television in New Zealand. Paloma is a highly experienced performer and has performed solo to both intimate audiences and outdoor audiences of over 100,000 people.

Please note: This biography is not to be copied, altered or reproduced in any form. Please contact Paloma if you need her biography for public use.

SUPPORTERS:

Paloma would like to give special thanks to those who have supported her including....

The Victoria League of Auckland

AMP (2007 AMP Scholarship recipient) www.doyourthing.co.nz

The Rotary Club of Auckland

The Auckland Opera Studio www.aucklandoperastudio.co.nz

Frances Wilson and Stephen Fitzgerald

Martin Creasy

Opera in the Pa Committee

The Garibaldi Club of Wellington

Chris Toal of Bodywall www.bodywall.com

Ann and Tom Morris

Diana Pryde and Lloyd Jowsey

Michael Hill

Opera Companies and Organisations:

Opera Anywhere: http://www.operaanywhere.com/

Opera Lyrica: http://www.operalyrica.co.uk/

The Merry Opera Company: http://merryopera.co.uk/

Heritage Opera: http://www.heritageopera.co.uk/

Surrey Opera: http://www.surreyopera.org/

Swansea City Opera: http://www.swanseacityopera.com/

New Zealand Opera: http://nzopera.com/

London Festival Opera: http://www.londonfestivalopera.co.uk/

Southgate Opera: http://www.southgateopera.co.uk/

West London Opera: http://www.westlondonopera.org.uk/

Auckland Philharmonia: http://apo.co.nz/

Christchurch Symphony Orchestra: http://www.cso.co.nz/

Festival Singers of Wellington: http://www.festival-singers.org.nz/

Orpheus Choir of Wellington: http://www.orpheuschoir.org.nz/

Orchestra Wellington: http://www.orchestrawellington.co.nz/

NZ International Festival of the Arts: http://festival.co.nz/

Wellington G&S Light Opera: http://www.gns.org.nz/